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Boater education is a good idea for all Idaho 
boaters. Not only will you learn how to boat 
safely, but becoming certified also can save you 
money on your boat or PWC 
insurance. You have two 
ways to be certified.

Over the Internet…
Learn what you need to know to be a safe boater or personal 
watercraft (PWC) operator online! The complete course 
with exciting visuals awaits you on the Internet. Interactive 
graphics help you learn and retain information on boating 

safely in Idaho. Successfully complete the online test, and you will receive 
your boater education certificate by mail.

Start today at www.boat-ed.com/idaho 
or at www.boatidaho.gov

1.

In a classroom…
Share the learning experience with other interested  
students and a qualified instructor. Classes are offered by 
the county sheriff ’s office, U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary, 
U.S. Power Squadrons, and community education 

organizations. The Idaho Department of Parks and Recreation can help 
you find a classroom course in your area. For more information:

Call 208-334-4199
or visit www.boatidaho.gov

2.

A Course on Responsible Boating
IDAHO
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Before going out on the water, take steps to make 
the outing safe and enjoyable.

Vessel Length Classes
	■ A vessel’s length class determines the 

equipment necessary to comply with federal 
and state laws.

	■ Vessels are divided into length classes:
•	Less than 16 feet
•	16 feet to less than 26 feet
•	26 feet to less than 40 feet
•	40 feet to less than 65 feet

	■ Length is measured from the tip of the bow 
in a straight line to the stern. This does not 
include outboard motors, brackets, rudders, 
bow attachments, or swim platforms and 
ladders that are not a molded part of the hull.

Vessel Capacity
	■ Always check the capacity plate, which is usually found near 

the operator’s position or on the vessel’s transom. This plate 
indicates the maximum weight capacity and maximum 
number of people that the vessel can carry safely. It also 
indicates the maximum horsepower.

	■ Personal watercraft (PWC) and some other vessels are 
not required to have a capacity plate. Always follow the 
recommended capacity in the owner’s manual and on the 
manufacturer’s warning decal.

Fueling a Vessel
Never fuel at night unless it is an emergency. If you must refuel 
after dark, use only electric lights. Try to refuel away from the 
water or on a commercial fueling ramp.

Before Going Out

Le
ng

th
Le

ng
th

Inboards

Outboards
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Boating Basics  5

	■ Before beginning to fuel:
•	Dock the boat securely and ask all passengers to exit.
•	Do not allow anyone to smoke or strike a match.
•	Check all fuel lines, connections, and fuel vents.
•	Turn off anything that might cause a spark—engines, fans, 

or electrical equipment.
•	Shut off all fuel valves and extinguish all open flames, such 

as galley stoves and pilot lights.
•	Close all windows, ports, doors, and other openings to 

prevent fumes from entering the boat.
•	Remove portable fuel tanks and fill them on the dock.

	■ While filling the fuel tank:
•	Keep the nozzle of the fuel-pump hose in contact with the 

tank opening to prevent producing a static spark.
•	Avoid spilling fuel into the boat’s bilge or the water.
•	Never fill a tank to the brim—leave room to expand.
•	Wipe up any spilled fuel.

	■ After fueling:
•	Open all windows, ports, doors, and other openings.
•	Before starting the engine, sniff the bilge and engine 

compartment for fuel vapors.

Additional Safety Procedures for PWC
	■ Do not tip the PWC in order to fill it all the way up. If the 

tank is overfilled, the fuel may expand and spill into the 
water.

	■ After fueling, open the door of 
the engine compartment and 
sniff to check for any evidence of 
gas fumes. Do this before starting 
the engine. If you do smell gas 
fumes, determine the source and 
make repairs immediately.

The most important safe fueling practice…
If your vessel is equipped with a power ventilation system, 
turn it on for at least four minutes after fueling and before 
starting your engine to remove gas vapors in the bilge.
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6  Boating Basics

Fuel Selector Switch on a PWC
This switch can help you avoid becoming 
stranded without fuel.

	■ Use the “Off” position when the 
PWC’s engine is turned off.

	■ Use the “On” position while you are 
underway.

	■ Use the “Reserve” position if you run 
out of fuel while underway. This will allow you to return to 
shore. Don’t forget to switch back to “On” after refueling.

Preventing Theft
Defend against theft of your vessel and equipment.

	■ Store your vessel so that it is not easily accessed.
•	Store your vessel and trailer in a locked garage or storage 

area.
•	Park another vehicle in front of the trailer, or lock the 

trailer to a fixed object in a well-lit area.
•	Secure the vessel and trailer to a fixed object with a good-

quality chain and lock. If moored, secure the vessel to the 
dock with a steel cable and lock.

•	Remove a trailer wheel if parked for an extended time.
•	Purchase a quality trailer hitch lock and use it.

	■ Chain and lock the motor and fuel tanks to the vessel.
	■ Mark or engrave all equipment with an identifier such as 

your driver’s license number.
	■ Photograph or videotape the interior and exterior of your 

vessel, showing all installed equipment and additional 
gear and equipment. Make a complete inventory of your 
equipment, vessel, and trailer.

	■ Remove expensive electronics or other valuables if the vessel 
is left unattended.

	■ Cover your vessel and always remove the keys.
	■ Title and register your vessel.
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Filing a Float Plan
Before going out on a vessel, it is always a good idea to leave 
a float plan with a relative or friend, or at least with a local 
marina. A float plan should:

	■ Describe the vessel, including its registration number, 
length, make, horsepower, and engine type.

	■ State where you are going, the detailed route, your planned 
departure time, and your expected return time.

	■ Give the name, address, and telephone number of each 
person on board and an emergency contact.

Pre-Departure Checklist
You can help ensure a good time while operating your vessel 
by performing this pre-departure check.

	✓ Check the weather forecast for the area and time frame 
during which you will be boating.

	✓ Make sure that the steering and throttle controls operate 
properly and all lights are working properly.

	✓ Check for any fuel leaks from the tank, fuel lines, and 
carburetor.

	✓ Check the engine compartment for oil leaks.
	✓ Check hose connections for leaks or cracks, and make 
sure hose clamps are tight.

	✓ Drain all water from the engine compartment, and be 
sure the bilge plug is replaced and secure.

	✓ Check to be sure you have a fully charged engine battery 
and fire extinguishers.

	✓ If so equipped, make sure the engine cut-off switch 
(ECOS) and wrist lanyard are in good order.

	✓ Make sure you have the required life jackets, and check 
that they are in good condition.

	✓ Leave a float plan with a reliable friend or relative.
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Safe navigation on Idaho waterways is everyone’s responsibility. 
All operators are equally responsible for taking action necessary 
to avoid collisions.

Encountering Other Vessels
Even though no vessel has the “right-of-way” over another 
vessel, there are some rules that every operator should follow 
when encountering other vessels. It is the responsibility of both 
operators to take the action needed to avoid a collision. The 
next page shows what to do when encountering another vessel.

To prevent collisions, every operator should follow the 
three basic rules of navigation.

	■ Practice good seamanship.
	■ Keep a sharp lookout.
	■ Maintain a safe speed and distance.

Encountering Vessels With Limited Maneuverability
	■ When operating a power-driven vessel, you must give way 

to:
•	Any vessel not under command, such as an anchored or 

disabled vessel
•	Any vessel restricted in its ability to maneuver, such as a 

vessel towing another or laying cable, or one constrained by 
its draft, such as a large ship in a channel

•	A vessel engaged in commercial fishing
•	A sailboat under sail unless it is overtaking

	■ When operating a vessel under sail, you must give way to:
•	Any vessel not under command
•	Any vessel restricted in its ability to maneuver
•	A vessel engaged in commercial fishing

On the Water
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Navigation Rules
There are two terms that help explain these rules.

	■ Stand-on vessel: The vessel that should maintain its course 
and speed

	■ Give-way vessel: The vessel that must take early and 
substantial action to avoid collision by stopping, slowing 
down, or changing course

Give 
way! Give 

way! Give 
way!

Give 
way!

Give 
way!

Give 
way!

Give 
way!

Power vs. Power Power vs. Sail
Meeting Head-On
Power vs. Power: Neither 
vessel is the stand-on vessel. 
Both vessels should keep to the 
starboard (right).

Power vs. Sail: The powerboat is 
the give-way vessel. The sailboat 
is the stand-on vessel.

Crossing Situations
Power vs. Power: The vessel on 
the operator’s port (left) side is 
the give-way vessel. The vessel 
on the operator’s starboard (right) 
side is the stand-on vessel. 

Power vs. Sail: The powerboat is 
the give-way vessel. The sailboat 
is the stand-on vessel. 

Overtaking
Power vs. Power: The vessel that 
is overtaking another vessel is the 
give-way vessel. The vessel being 
overtaken is the stand-on vessel.

Power vs. Sail: The vessel that is 
overtaking another vessel is the 
give-way vessel. The vessel being 
overtaken is the stand-on vessel.
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10  Boating Basics

Nighttime Navigation
Be on the lookout for the lights of other vessels when boating 
at night. Several types of lights serve as navigation aids at night. 
There are four common navigation lights.

	■ Sidelights: These red and green lights are called sidelights 
(also called combination lights) because they are visible 
to another vessel approaching from the side or head-on. 
The red light indicates a vessel’s port (left) side; the green 
indicates a vessel’s starboard (right) side.

	■ Sternlight: This white light is seen from behind or nearly 
behind the vessel.

	■ Masthead Light: This white light shines forward and 
to both sides and is required on all power-driven vessels. 
A masthead light must be displayed by all vessels when 
under engine power. The absence of this light indicates a 
sailboat under sail.

	■ All-Round White Light: On power-driven vessels 
less than 39.4 feet in length, this light may be used to 
combine a masthead light and sternlight into a single 
white light that can be seen by other vessels from any 
direction. This light serves as an anchor light when  
sidelights are extinguished.

sternlight

sidelights 
(combination)

masthead light 
(225 degrees)

sidelights 
(combination)

all-round white light 
(360 degrees)
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Encountering Vessels at Night

When you see only a white 
light, you are overtaking another 
vessel. It is the stand-on vessel 
whether it is underway or 
anchored. You may go around it 
on either side.

When you see a green and a 
white light, you are the stand-on 
vessel. However, remain alert 
in case the other vessel operator 
does not see you or does not 
know the navigation rules.

When you see a red and a white 
light, you must give way to the 
other vessel. Slow down and 
allow the vessel to pass, or you 
may turn to the right and pass 
behind the other vessel.

Stand on, but 
be prepared 
to give way!

Give way

Give way

Encountering a  
Sailboat at Night
When you see only a red light 
or only a green light, you may 
be approaching a sailboat under 
sail and you must give way. 
The sailboat under sail is always 
the stand-on vessel. Give way

Give way
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12  Boating Basics

U.S. Aids to Navigation System (ATON)
Buoys and markers are the “traffic signals” that guide vessel 
operators safely along some waterways. They also identify 
dangerous or controlled areas and give directions and 
information. As a recreational boat or PWC operator, you will 
need to know the lateral navigation markers and non-lateral 
markers of the U.S. Aids to Navigation System.

Lateral Markers
These navigation aids mark the edges of safe water areas; for 
example, directing travel within a channel. The markers use 
a combination of colors and numbers, which may appear on 
either buoys or permanently placed markers.

Red colors, red lights, and even numbers 
indicate the right side of the channel  

as a boater enters from the open  
sea or heads upstream. 

Green colors, green lights, 
and odd numbers indicate the left side of the 
channel as a boater enters from the open sea or 
heads upstream.

Red and green colors and/or lights indicate 
the preferred (primary) channel. If green is 
on top, the preferred channel is to the right 

as a boater enters from the open sea or heads 
upstream; if red is on top, the preferred channel 

is to the left.
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Nuns are red cone-shaped buoys 
marked with even numbers.

Cans are green cylindrical-shaped buoys 
marked with odd numbers.

Lighted Buoys use the lateral marker colors 
and numbers discussed above; in addition, they 
have a matching colored light.

Daymarks are permanently placed 
signs attached to structures, such 
as posts, in the water. Common 

daymarks are red triangles (equivalent 
to nuns) and green squares (equivalent 

to cans). They may be lighted also.

Red Right Returning
is a reminder of the correct course when returning from open 

waters or heading upstream. 

open waters open waters

Copyright © 2021 Kalkomey Enterprises, LLC and its divisions and partners, www.kalkomey.com



14  Boating Basics

Non-Lateral Markers
Non-lateral markers are navigation aids that give information 
other than the edges of safe water areas. The most common are 
regulatory markers that are white and use orange markings and 
black lettering. These markers are found on lakes and rivers.

Information
Squares indicate where to find food, supplies, 
repairs, etc., and give directions and other 
information.

Controlled
Circles indicate a controlled area such as speed 
limit, no fishing or anchoring, ski only or no 
skiing, or “slow, no wake.”

Exclusion
Crossed diamonds indicate areas off limits to 
all vessels such as swimming areas, dams, and 
spillways.

Danger
Diamonds warn of dangers such as rocks, 
shoals, construction, dams, or stumps. Always 
proceed with caution.
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Weather Emergencies
Weather can change very rapidly and create unexpected 
situations for boat operators. Even meteorologists have trouble 
predicting rapid weather changes. You should always monitor 
weather developments. One way is to use a VHF radio.

Other Non-Lateral Markers

Safe Water Markers are white 
with red vertical stripes and mark 

mid-channels or fairways. They 
may be passed on either side.

Inland Waters Obstruction Markers are 
white with black vertical stripes and indicate 
an obstruction to navigation. You should 
not pass between these buoys and the nearest 
shore.

Mooring Buoy
Mooring buoys are white with a blue 
horizontal band and are found in 
marinas and other areas where vessels 
are allowed to anchor.
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16  Boating Basics

What to Do if Caught in Severe Weather
	■ Prepare the boat to handle severe weather.

•	Slow down, but keep enough power to maintain headway 
and steering.

•	Close all hatches, windows, and doors to reduce the 
chance of swamping.

•	Stow any unnecessary gear.
•	Turn on your boat’s navigation lights. If there is fog, sound 

your foghorn.
•	Keep bilges free of water. Be prepared to remove water by 

bailing.
•	If there is lightning, disconnect all electrical equipment. 

Stay as clear of metal objects as possible.
	■ Prepare your passengers for severe weather.

•	Have everyone put on a USCG–approved life jacket. If 
passengers are already wearing their life jackets, make sure 
they are secured properly.

•	Have your passengers sit on the vessel floor close to the 
centerline for their safety and to make the boat more 
stable.

	■ Decide whether to go to shore or ride out the storm.
•	If possible, head for the nearest shore that is safe to 

approach. If already caught in a storm, it may be best to 
ride it out in open water rather than try to approach the 
shore in heavy wind and waves.

•	Head the bow into the waves at a 45-degree angle. PWC 
should head directly into the waves.

•	If the engine stops, drop a “sea anchor” on a line off the 
bow to keep the bow headed into the wind and reduce 
drifting while you ride out the storm. In an emergency, a 
bucket will work as a sea anchor.

•	If the sea anchor is not sufficient, anchor using your 
conventional anchor to prevent your boat from drifting 
into dangerous areas.
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Surviving Cold Water Immersion
Sudden immersion in cold water is one of the greatest hazards to 
Idaho’s boaters. Experts consider water temperatures below 70°F 
to be cold. In Idaho, this would include all our waterways.

	■ Cold water shock is often more dangerous than 
hypothermia. 
•	Many of the victims who have lost their lives in boating 

accidents didn’t die as a result of poor swimming skills or 
the effects of hypothermia—they died from the immediate 
effects of cold water shock as a result of immersion in cold 
water. Unlike hypothermia, the effects of cold water shock 
can lead to death in just a few minutes and in some cases, 
in seconds.

•	When the body is suddenly immersed in cold water, it 
can trigger a cold shock response—an automatic reflex 
that can cause immediate, involuntary gasping that can 
last up to a minute. If the victim is under the water, water 
can be inhaled into the lungs. This also can also lead to 
hyperventilation or can trigger cardiac arrest, especially 
in people with heart disease. If a person isn’t wearing a 
life jacket while boating, it is very difficult to put on a life 
jacket once a boat has capsized. It is critical that everyone 
on board is already wearing a life jacket.

	■ Hypothermia is the body’s response when the core body 
temperature falls below normal, such as when a person falls 
into cold water.
•	Falling into cold water speeds the loss of body heat 25 

times faster in than being in cold air and can result in 
hypothermia in 30 to 90 minutes.

•	Hypothermia affects the entire body, from the body’s core 
to the brain, heart, lungs, and other vital organs. Even a 
mild case of hypothermia diminishes a victim’s physical 
and mental abilities, thus increasing the risk of accidents. 
Severe hypothermia may result in unconsciousness and 
possibly death. 
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18  Boating Basics

	■ Nearly all boaters who die in water-related accidents had 
no intention of going into the water. The most important 
practice in cold water survival is taking steps to prevent 
going into the water.
•	Never risk anyone’s life by going out in bad weather or 

severe water conditions. 
•	Be certain you have the skills you need for the 

waterways you use. Overestimating your own skills or 
underestimating the forces of cold, moving water can be a 
deadly oversight. 

•	Wear a bright-colored, high-visibility life jacket. Attach a 
whistle to it for emergency signaling.

•	Monitor the weather, and dress appropriately. Consider 
both the water and the air temperature.
	- During the coldest seasons, wear a wetsuit or drysuit.
	- For the rest of the year, wear wool or synthetic cloth in 
layers to retain body heat.

•	Always travel with others. Take a friend along, and boat or 
paddle in a group.

•	Let someone know where you will be boating and when 
you expect to return.

	■ If you enter cold water unexpectedly:
•	Stay with the boat. It’s easier for rescuers to spot the boat 

than a person in the water.
•	Be sure everyone is wearing a life jacket that is securely 

fastened.
•	Try to right the boat and reboard it. Signal for help even 

though you may feel safe and at ease.
•	Don’t remove your clothes—they may provide flotation 

and insulation.
•	Do not swim unless there is absolutely no chance of rescue 

and you are absolutely certain you can make it to shore. If 
you do swim, make sure you are wearing a life jacket or use 
some other flotation aid. 
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Specifically for PWC
Although a personal watercraft (PWC) is considered an inboard 
vessel and comes under the same rules and requirements of 
any other vessel, there are specific considerations for the PWC 
operator.
steering control

steering nozzle

Remember—no power means no steering control…
Most PWC and other jet-drive vessels must have power 
in order to maintain control. If you allow the engine on a 
PWC or other jet-propelled vessel to return to idle or shut 
off during operation, you may lose all steering control. Many 
PWC will continue in the direction they were headed before 
the engine was shut off, no matter which way the steering 
control is turned. New PWC allow for off-throttle steering.

Steering and Stopping a PWC
	■ PWC are propelled by drawing water 

into a pump and then forcing it out 
under pressure through a steering nozzle 
at the back of the unit. This “jet” of 
pressurized water is directed by the 
steering control—when the steering 
control is turned, the steering nozzle 
turns in the same direction. For example, 
if the steering control is turned right, the 
nozzle turns right and the jet of water 
pushes the back of the vessel to the left, 
which causes the PWC to turn right.

	■ Most PWC do not have brakes. Always allow plenty of room 
for stopping. Just because you release the throttle or shut off 
the engine does not mean you will stop immediately. Even 
PWC that have a braking system do not stop immediately.

Engine Cut-Off Switch (ECOS)
	■ Most PWC and powerboats come equipped by the 

manufacturer with an important device called an emergency 
engine cut-off switch (ECOS). If properly worn, this is a 
safety device that is designed to shut off the engine if the 
operator is thrown from the proper operating position. The 
USCG requires that operators of vessels equipped with an 
ECOS use the device at all times.
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	■ A lanyard is attached to the 
ECOS and the operator’s wrist 
or life jacket. The ECOS shuts 
off the engine if the operator 
falls off the PWC or out of the 
powerboat. If your vessel does 
not come equipped with an 
ECOS, you should have one installed.

	■ In many states, it is illegal to ride your PWC without 
attaching the lanyard properly between the switch and 
yourself.

Reboarding a Capsized PWC
After a fall, the PWC could be overturned completely. You 
should be familiar with the proper procedure to right the PWC 
and to reboard from the rear of the craft.

	■ Most manufacturers have 
placed a decal at the rear 
or bottom of the craft that 
indicates the direction to roll 
your PWC to return it to an 
upright position. If no decal 
exists, check your owner’s 
manual or ask the dealer. If 
you roll it over the wrong 
way, you could damage your PWC.

	■ Practice reboarding with someone else around to make sure 
you can handle it alone. Don’t ride your PWC if you are 
very tired because reboarding will be difficult. Also, avoid 
riding where there are strong currents or winds, which could 
hamper your reboarding efforts.

Remember…
Beginning April 2021, a new federal rule requires operators 
of recreational vessels less than 26 feet in length to use the 
ECOS if the vessel is equipped with such a device. Operators 
must use the ECOS whenever the vessel is operating on plane 
or above displacement speed.
Be sure to check with the state boating agency where you are 
boating to determine how this new USCG rule applies locally. 
For more information on this requirement, visit  
www.uscgboating.org/recreational-boaters/engine-cut-off-switch-faq.php.
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Courtesy When Encountering Other Vessels
	■ Jumping the wake of a passing boat, or riding too close to 

another PWC or boat, creates risks and is restricted or even 
prohibited in some states. The vessel making the wake may 
block the PWC operator’s view of oncoming traffic and also 
conceal the PWC operator from approaching vessels.

	■ Excessive noise from PWC often makes them unwelcome 
with other vessel operators and people on shore. Be a 
courteous PWC operator.
•	Vary your operating area, and do not keep repeating the 

same maneuver.
•	Avoid congregating with other PWC operators near shore, 

which increases annoying noise levels.
•	Avoid making excessive noise near residential and camping 

areas, particularly early in the morning.
•	Avoid maneuvers that cause the engine exhaust to lift out 

of the water because that increases noise levels.
•	Do not modify your engine exhaust system if it increases 

the noise. Improperly modified exhausts will not make 
your PWC faster and may raise the noise to an illegal level.

Environmental Considerations
When operating your PWC, consider the effect you may have 
on the environment.

	■ Make sure that the water you 
operate in is at least 30 inches 
deep. Riding in shallow water 
can cause bottom sediments or 
aquatic vegetation to be sucked 
into the pump, damaging your 
PWC and the environment.
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	■ Avoid causing erosion by operating at slow speed and by 
not creating a wake when operating near shore or in narrow 
streams or rivers.

	■ Do not dock or beach your PWC in reeds and grasses. This 
could damage fragile environments.

	■ Take extra care when fueling your PWC in or near the 
water. Oil and gasoline spills are very detrimental to the 
aquatic environment. Fuel on land if possible.

	■ Never use your PWC to disturb, chase, or harass wildlife.

Other PWC Considerations
	■ Remember that everyone on board a PWC must wear a life 

jacket.
	■ Keep hands, feet, loose clothing, 

and hair away from the pump intake 
area. Before cleaning debris away 
from the pump intake, be sure to 
shut off the engine.

	■ Keep everyone clear of the steering 
nozzle unless the PWC is shut 
off. The water jet can cause severe 
injuries.

	■ Frequently inspect your PWC’s 
electrical systems (e.g., starter and 
engine gauge connections) to ensure 
there is no potential for electrical spark. Gas fumes could 
collect in the engine compartment and an explosion could 
occur. After fueling, sniff the engine compartment for any 
evidence of gas fumes.

	■ Never exceed the manufacturer’s recommended capacity for 
your PWC.

	■ Know your limits, and ride according to your abilities.
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All operators are required to obey laws that regulate your vessel’s 
registration and operation.

Registering Your Vessel
	■ You must have an Idaho Certificate of Number and 

validation stickers to operate your vessel legally on Idaho 
waters. The only exceptions are:
•	Manually propelled vessels (for example, canoes, rafts, and 

kayaks)
•	Float tubes (without a motor)
•	Sailboards
•	Vessels properly registered in another state and using Idaho 

waters for 60 or fewer consecutive days
•	Vessels documented with the U.S. Coast Guard (USCG)

	■ All sailboats, whether power-driven or under sail, need to be 
registered.

	■ The original Certificate 
of Number or registration 
renewal must be on 
board and available 
for inspection by an 
enforcement officer 
whenever the vessel is operated.

	■ The registration number and validation stickers must be 
displayed as follows.
•	Number must be painted, applied as a decal, or otherwise 

affixed to both sides of the bow, as high above the 
waterline as possible.

•	Number must read from left to right on both sides of the 
bow.

•	Number must be in at least three-inch-high vertical 
BLOCK letters.

•	Number’s color must contrast sharply with the vessel’s 
background.

Before Going Out 
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•	Letters must be separated from the numbers by a space or 
hyphen equal to the letter width; for example, 
ID 3717 ZW or ID–3717–ZW.

•	No other numbers may be displayed on either side of the 
bow.

•	One sticker must be affixed to each side of the vessel. 
It must be within six inches of and in line with the 
registration number and may be placed to either side of 
the registration number. Expired stickers must be removed 
or covered completely by the new sticker.

ID 3717 ZW   ■ 

Spaces or hyphens should appear here.

Validation 
Sticker

EXPIRES DEC 31
2021

21

Where to Register
The Certificate of Number (registration card) and validation 
stickers for first-time Idaho registrations are obtained by 
visiting an Idaho Department of Parks and Recreation 
(IDPR) office, county DMV office, or at the boat dealer 
where boat purchase is completed.
Registration or Renewal Questions? 
For registration or renewal questions, visit the IDPR website 
at www.parksandrecreation.idaho.gov, or call IDPR at  
1-888-922-6743. You may also visit any IDPR, county 
DMV, or vendor location.

Fees to Register Your Vessel
Vessels up to 12 feet in length. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                  $20.00
Vessels 12 feet in length or longer . . . . . . . . . . . .           $20.00 plus
	 $2.00/foot over 12 feet
Idaho Invasive Species Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   $10.00
Vessels owned by a non-profit organization. . . . . . . . . .         $2.00
An administrative fee of $1.50 may be added to each registration.
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Other Facts About Titling and Registering
	■ The following vessels must be titled:

•	Any vessel, model year 2000 or newer, with a permanently 
attached mode of propulsion (for example, inboards, stern 
drives, personal watercraft or PWC, and sailboats)

•	Any non-exempt vessel, model year 2000 or newer, over 
12 feet in length regardless of method of propulsion (for 
example, a year 2000, 13-foot boat with outboard motor)

	■ The Certificate of Number and validation stickers expire 
on December 31 of each year. Renewal notices are sent to 
the owners of previously registered vessels via email. You 
may renew on the Internet, at a county DMV office, or at a 
registration vendor.
•	On the Internet: Go to www.parksandrecreation.idaho.gov,  

and click on “Registrations and Permits.” Renewals 
completed online will be immediately validated, and 
customers will receive a temporary Certificate of Number 
via email. Permanent Certificate of Number and validation 
stickers will be fulfilled via mail. Customers will also have 
the option to set up automatic registration renewals.

•	At a county DMV or registration vendor: Visit a county 
DMV office or registration vendor, and receive face-to-
face customer service. (For a complete list of participating 
vendors and DMV locations, please visit the website at 
www.parksandrecreation.idaho.gov.) Renewals completed 
at a county DMV or vendor will be immediately 
validated, and customers will receive either a temporary 
or a permanent Certificate of Number. All temporary 
Certificates of Number will be followed-up by a permanent 
certificate fulfilled via mail.

	■ If you change your address; if you sell, abandon, or destroy 
your vessel; or if your vessel is stolen, you must contact 
IDPR within 15 days.

	■ If you lose or destroy your Certificate of Number or 
validation stickers, you must apply to IDPR for a duplicate 
and submit a processing fee.

	■ Larger recreational vessels owned by U.S. citizens may (at the 
option of the owner) be documented by the USCG. Call the 
USCG at 1-800-799-8362 for more information.
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Buying or Selling a Vessel
The procedure for transferring ownership of a vessel is outlined 
here. The steps are essentially the same whether the buyer 
is purchasing the vessel from a marine dealer or from an 
individual.

	■ If a registered vessel is sold or transferred to another person, 
the buyer must apply for a new Certificate of Number.
•	If the Idaho registration is still valid, the buyer must 

apply anyway and pay a small fee for the registration to be 
transferred to his or her name.

•	If the registration has expired or the purchased vessel is 
new, the buyer must purchase a new registration.

•	The registration number stays with the vessel as long as 
it is registered in Idaho—the number is never assigned to 
another vessel.

	■ If a registered vessel is sold or otherwise transferred 
to another person, the seller is required to report the 
transaction to the IDPR within 15 days from the date of 
sale.

Hull Identification Number
The Hull Identification 
Number (HIN) is a unique, 
12-digit number assigned by the 
manufacture required for vessels 
built after 1972.

	■ These numbers:
•	Distinguish one vessel from 

another.
•	Are engraved in the 

fiberglass or on a metal plate permanently attached to the 
transom, or are printed on inflated rafts and kayaks.

	■ You should write down your HIN and put it in a place 
separate from your vessel in case warranty problems arise or 
your vessel is stolen.

 ABC  67689  B6  06

	  	 Hull Serial   	   	 Model 
		  Number		  Year
	Manufacturer’s		  Date of 
	 Identification 		  Manufacture
	 Code
	 (MIC)
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Operator Age and Education Requirements
	■ Although there is no statewide law specifying a minimum 

age to operate a vessel, all operators must be competent 
and are held responsible for knowing the navigation rules. 
In addition, there are local age regulations, for example, in 
Benewah, Bonner, and Kootenai counties. Be sure to contact 
the counties and cities where you plan to boat about their 
local ordinances.

	■ Idaho law requires boater education under these conditions.
•	PWC rental businesses must provide education to 

each person who will ride and operate the PWC. The 
operator of the PWC must carry a verification wallet card. 
The IDPR provides the education materials to rental 
businesses.

•	In addition to penalties, boat operators are required to pass 
a boating course if they are convicted of operating under 
the influence of drugs or alcohol.

•	Boat operators who are repeat offenders of any boating law 
or rule also are required to pass a boating course.

Marine Events
If an event is being held on Idaho waters, you must apply for 
a permit from the county sheriff who has jurisdiction over the 
waters at least 30 days prior to the event.
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Local Regulations
County and city governments may have additional regulations 
governing the operation of vessels on waters within their 
jurisdictions. Contact the local sheriff ’s department to learn of 
any special restrictions in the county where you will be boating.

Enforcement
	■ The boating laws of 

Idaho are enforced 
primarily by sheriffs 
and deputy sheriffs 
of the county having 
jurisdiction over the 
waterway. All Idaho peace 
officers have the authority 
to stop and board vessels 
in order to check for 
compliance with federal and state laws.

	■ The USCG has enforcement authority on federally 
controlled waters. Visit the IDPR website at  
www.boatidaho.gov or call the IDPR headquarters at 
208-334-4199 for the list of federally controlled waters in 
Idaho.

	■ It is illegal to refuse to follow the directive of a person with 
law enforcement authority. An operator who has received a 
visual or audible sign from a law enforcement officer must 
bring his or her vessel to a stop.

Courtesy Vessel Inspection 
Idaho boat enforcement officers will perform 
a courtesy safety check of your vessel 
and equipment free of charge. You can 
contact your county sheriff to arrange for 
a safety check. If your vessel meets all state 
requirements, you will receive an Idaho inspection sticker.

color and  year should be the same as the registration decal

2021

IDAHO

BO
AT

 SAFETY INSPECTION 
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Required Equipment
When preparing to go out on a vessel, the operator must check 
that the legally required equipment is on board.

Life Jackets (Personal Flotation Devices)
	■ All recreational vessels must have at least one Type I, II, or 

III life jacket, sometimes known as personal flotation device 
(PFD), that is U.S. Coast Guard (USCG)–approved and 
of the proper size for each person on board or being towed. 
Sizing for life jackets is based on body weight and chest size.

	■ In addition to the above requirement, vessels 16 feet in 
length or longer (except canoes and kayaks of any length) 
must have one USCG–approved Type IV device on board 
and readily accessible.

	■ Children 14 years of age or younger, on board vessels 19 feet 
or less, must wear an approved life jacket when the vessel is 
underway.

	■ Seaplanes, sailboards, and certain racing vessels are exempt 
from the above life jacket requirements. Fly-fishing float 
tubes do not require life jackets on lakes with less than 200 
surface acres. Fly-fishing pontoons do require life jackets on 
all Idaho waters.

	■ Each person riding on a personal watercraft (PWC) must 
wear a USCG–approved Type I, II, or III life jacket.

	■ Each person being towed behind a vessel must wear a  
USCG–approved life jacket.

	■ Besides being USCG–approved, all life jackets must be:
•	In good and serviceable condition.
•	Readily accessible, which means you are able to put the life 

jacket on quickly in an emergency.
•	Of the proper size for the intended wearer.

Types of Life Jackets

TYPE IV 
Cushion

TYPE IV 
Ring Buoy

TYPE I TYPE II TYPE III TYPE III
Inflatable

TYPE V
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Life Jacket Label
Every USCG–approved life jacket has a label that contains 
important information. While boating, you may encounter life 
jackets with either old or new labels. 

	■ The older, legacy labels have a type number (Types I–V). 
•	The type number indicates what kind of activity is 

appropriate for the life jacket. 
•	Life jackets with these labels may still be used in the 

country where they are approved as long as they are in  
good condition.

	■ The new labels have a performance level icon that contains a 
number, typically ranging from 50 to 150.
•	A lower number means the life jacket is intended for near-

shore activities in calm waters. This type of life jacket offers 
greater mobility and comfort.

•	A higher number means the life jacket is intended for 
offshore activities. This type of life jacket offers greater 
flotation, turning, and stability.

•	Life jackets with these labels are approved for use in both 
the U.S. and Canada.

	■ Regardless of the label, there should be a USCG approval 
number. This means that the life jacket is safe and meets  
legal requirements.
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Navigation Lights
The required navigation lights must be displayed between 
sunset and sunrise and during periods of restricted visibility.

Power-Driven Vessels When Underway
If less than 65.6 feet long, these vessels must exhibit the lights 
as shown in illustration 1. Remember, power-driven vessels 
include sailboats operating under engine power. The required 
lights are:

	■ Red and green sidelights visible from a distance of at least 
two miles away—or if less than 39.4 feet long, at least one 
mile away—on a dark, clear night.

	■ An all-round white light (if less than 39.4 feet long) or 
both a masthead light and a sternlight. These lights must be 
visible from a distance of at least two miles away on a dark, 
clear night. The all-round white light (or the masthead light) 
must be at least 3.3 feet higher than the sidelights.

Unpowered Vessels When Underway
Unpowered vessels are sailboats or vessels that are paddled, 
poled, or rowed.

	■ If less than 65.6 feet long, these vessels must exhibit the 
lights as shown in illustration 2. The required lights are:
•	Red and green sidelights visible from at least two miles 

away—or if less than 39.4 feet long, at least one mile away.
•	A sternlight visible from at least two miles away.

	■ If less than 23.0 feet long, these vessels should:
•	If practical, exhibit the same lights as required for 

unpowered vessels less than 65.6 feet in length.
•	If not practical, have on hand at least one lantern or 

flashlight shining a white light as in illustration 3.

All Vessels When Not Underway
All vessels are required to display a white light visible from all 
directions whenever they are moored or anchored outside a 
designated mooring area between sunset and sunrise.
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1. Power-Driven Vessels Less Than 65.6 Feet

2. Unpowered Vessels Less Than 65.6 Feet

Vessel operators should never leave shore 
without a flashlight. Even if you plan to return 
before dark, unforeseen developments might 
delay your return past nightfall.

3. Unpowered Vessels Less Than 23.0 Feet

An alternative 
to the sidelights 
and sternlight is a 
combination red, 
green, and white 
light, which must 
be exhibited near 
the top of the 
mast.

The masthead light and 
sternlight may be combined 
as an all-round white 
light on vessels less than 
39.4 feet long. Less than 39.4 feet only
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Fire Extinguishers
	■ All vessels are required to have a Type B USCG–approved 

fire extinguisher on board if one or more of the following 
conditions exist.
•	Length of the vessel is 26 feet or more
•	Vessel has closed compartments
•	Vessel is powered by an inboard or stern drive engine
•	Vessel is carrying passengers for hire

	■ Approved types of fire extinguishers are labeled—“Marine 
Type USCG Approved”—followed by the type and size 
symbols and the approval number.

	■ Extinguishers should be placed in an accessible area—not 
near the engine or in a compartment. Check all 
extinguishers regularly to make sure they are charged.

Backfire Flame Arrestors
Backfire flame arrestors are designed to prevent the ignition of 
gasoline vapors in case the engine backfires.

	■ Two types of backfire flame protection systems are 
acceptable:
•	A backfire flame arrestor on each carburetor. Flame 

arrestors must be approved by the USCG (must comply 
with SAE J-1928 or UL 1111 standards) and be marked 
accordingly. Periodically clean the flame arrestor(s) and 
check for any damage.

Fire Extinguisher Requirements
Classification Foam Carbon Dioxide Dry Chemical

type & size minimum gallons minimum pounds minimum pounds
5-B 1¼ 4 2
20-B 2½ 15 10

Length of Vessel Without Fixed System With Fixed System*

Less than 26 ft. one 5-B none
26 ft. to less than 40 ft. two 5-B or one 20-B one 5-B
40 ft. to less than 65 ft. three 5-B or  

one 20-B and one 5-B
two 5-B or  
one 20-B

*refers to a permanently installed fire extinguisher system

For carriage requirements, one 5-B is equivalent to one B-I, and 
one 20-B is equivalent to one B-II.
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•	An arrangement of the carburetor or engine air induction 
system that safely disperses any flames from a backfire to 
the atmosphere outside the vessel.

	■ Paper or automotive filters are not USCG–approved and are 
dangerous to use.

Ventilation Systems
The purpose of ventilation systems is to remove flammable 
gases, greatly reducing the chance of a life-threatening 
explosion.

	■ All gasoline-
powered vessels, 
constructed in 
a way that would 
entrap fumes, must have 
at least two ventilation ducts fitted with cowls to remove the 
fumes. 

	■ If your vessel is equipped with a power ventilation system, 
turn it on for at least four minutes both after fueling and 
before starting the engine. 

	■ If your vessel is not equipped with a power ventilation 
system (for example, a PWC), open the engine 
compartment and sniff for gasoline fumes before starting the 
engine.

Mufflers and Noise Limits
	■ All vessel engines must have an effective, permanently 

installed muffling system that cannot be bypassed.
•	Vessels built before January 1, 1995, must not exceed  

90 dB(A) using the stationary test.
•	Vessels built on or after January 1, 1995, must not exceed 

88 dB(A) using the stationary test.
•	While operating on lakes and rivers wider than 500 feet, it 

is unlawful to exceed 75 dB(A) as measured from shore.
	■ Contact your local sheriff ’s department for a free screening 

of your vessel’s noise.
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Sound-Producing Devices
In periods of reduced visibility or whenever a vessel operator 
needs to signal his or her intentions or position, a sound-
producing device is essential.

	■ Vessels less than 39.4 feet (12 meters) in length, which 
includes PWC, must have some way of making an efficient 
sound signal. Examples are a handheld air horn, an athletic 
whistle, an installed horn, etc. A human voice is not 
acceptable.

	■ Vessels that are 39.4 feet (12 meters) or more in length 
must have a sound-producing device that can produce an 
efficient sound signal. The sound signal should be audible 
for one-half mile and should last for 4 to 6 seconds.

Visual Distress Signals (VDSs)
Visual distress signals (VDSs) allow vessel operators to signal for 
help in the event of an emergency.

	■ In Idaho, VDSs are not required unless you are on federally 
controlled waters. Visit www.boatidaho.gov or call  
208-334-4199 for the list of federally controlled waters in 
Idaho. 

	■ Vessels on federally controlled waters must be equipped with 
VDSs that are USCG–approved, in serviceable condition, 
and readily accessible.

	■ All vessels, regardless of length or type, are required to carry 
night signals when operating between sunset and sunrise. 
Most vessels must carry day signals also; exceptions to the 
requirement for day signals are:
•	Recreational vessels less than 16 feet in length
•	Non-motorized open sailboats less than 26 feet in length
•	Manually propelled vessels

Federally Controlled Waters: Vessels must observe federal 
requirements on these waters:

•	Coastal waters
•	The Great Lakes
•	Territorial seas
•	Waters that are two miles wide or wider and are 

connected directly to one of the above
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	■ If pyrotechnic VDSs are used, they must be dated. Expired 
VDSs may be carried on board, but a minimum of three 
unexpired VDSs must be carried in the vessel.

	■ The following combinations of signals are examples of 
VDSs that could be carried on board to satisfy USCG 
requirements:
•	Three handheld red flares (day and night)
•	One handheld red flare and two red meteors (day and night)
•	One handheld orange smoke signal (day), two floating orange 

smoke signals (day), and one electric light (night only)
	■ It is prohibited to display VDSs while on the water unless 

assistance is required to prevent immediate or potential 
danger to persons on board.

Although an arm signal does not meet 
VDS equipment requirements, wave 
your arms to summon help if you do 
not have other distress signals on board.

VDSs are classified as day signals (visible in bright sunlight), 
night signals (visible at night), or both day and night 
signals. VDSs are either pyrotechnic (smoke and flames) or 
non-pyrotechnic (non-combustible). 

Day
Handheld Orange Smoke (Pyrotechnic)

Floating Orange Smoke (Pyrotechnic)

Orange Flag (Non-Pyrotechnic)

Night
Electric Light (Non-Pyrotechnic)

Day and Night
Red Meteor (Pyrotechnic)

Red Flare (Pyrotechnic)
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On the Water
In addition to the laws mentioned previously, here are some 
other Idaho regulations that apply when vessel operators are on 
the water.

Unlawful Operation
In Idaho, these dangerous operating practices are illegal.

	■ Negligent Operation of a vessel is the failure to exercise the 
care necessary to protect the rights, safety, or property of 
others. Some examples of negligent operation are:
•	Boating in an area where buoys or other markers clearly 

mark a swimming area or some other restricted area
•	Becoming airborne while crossing the wake of another 

vessel at an unsafe distance from the vessel creating the 
wake

•	Weaving through congested waterway traffic
•	Swerving at the last possible moment in order to avoid a 

collision
•	Causing danger or damage from the wake of your vessel
•	Chasing, harassing, or disturbing wildlife with your vessel

	■ Riding on the Bow, Deck, or Gunwale is allowing 
passengers to ride on the bow, gunwale, transom, seat backs, 
seats on raised decks, or any other place where there may be a 
chance of falling overboard.

Remember—vessel owners are responsible…
As the owner of a vessel, you are liable if you consent to allow 
others to operate your vessel and they do so in an illegal or 
unsafe manner. It is presumed the vessel is being operated 
with your consent when it is under the control of your 
spouse, father, mother, brother, sister, son, daughter, or other 
immediate member of your family. 
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	■ Failure to Regulate Speed is operating at speeds that are 
too fast for the operator to bring the vessel to a stop within 
an assured clear distance ahead. It is illegal to exceed any 
posted speed limits. Specifically, the following acts are illegal:
•	Operating at a speed greater than “no wake speed” 

(maximum of five miles per hour) while within 100 feet of 
a dock, a swimmer, or a person in the water except when: 
	- Safely pulling a water-skier from a dock
	- Safely dropping a water-skier at or near a dock
	- The swimmer or other person in the water is the vessel’s 
skier

•	Operating at a speed and proximity to another vessel that 
requires the other operator to swerve at the last moment to 
avoid a collision

	■ Overloading or Overpowering is exceeding the carrying 
capacity or power limitations stated on the capacity plate 
installed by the vessel manufacturer, even if the vessel is a 
kayak or an inflatable raft.
•	You must not exceed the maximum allowed number 

of persons, maximum allowed pounds of persons, or 
maximum allowed combined pounds of persons and 
equipment.

•	If your vessel is powered by an outboard motor, you must 
not exceed the allowed horsepower.

“No Wake Speed” or “Idle Speed” is the slowest speed at 
which it is still possible to maintain steering, not to exceed 
five miles per hour.
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Alcohol and Drugs
Idaho law prohibits anyone from operating or being in actual 
physical control of any vessel while under the influence of 
alcohol, drugs, or other intoxicating substances. Alcohol 
and drugs cause impaired balance, blurred vision, poor 
coordination, impaired judgment, and slower reaction times. 

	■ Idaho law states that a person is considered to be “under the 
influence” if he or she:
•	Is 21 years of age or older and has a blood alcohol 

concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or higher or…
•	Is under 21 years of age and has a BAC of 0.02% or 

higher.
	■ Idaho law establishes the following penalties.

•	Those convicted of operating under the influence of 
alcohol or drugs may:
	- Receive a maximum fine of $1,000 and/or a sentence of 
six months in the county jail and…

	- Be required to attend and successfully complete a course 
on safe boating and…

	- Lose their privileges to operate a vessel for up to two years.
•	A person causing great bodily harm, permanent disability, 

or permanent disfigurement to another person while 
operating under the influence of alcohol or drugs is guilty 
of a felony and will:
	- Be sentenced to the State Board of Corrections for up to 
five years, with a minimum of 30 days, and…

	- Be fined up to $5,000 and…
	- Have his or her 
privileges to 
operate a vessel 
suspended for 
a minimum of 
one year, not to 
exceed two years, 
after release from 
prison. Just remember this simple rule:  

Don’t Drink and Boat!
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	■ By operating a vessel on Idaho waters, you have consented 
to be tested for the presence of alcohol, drugs, or other 
intoxicating substances if requested by a peace officer. 
Any person refusing to submit to testing for the presence 
of alcohol, drugs, or other intoxicating substances will be 
assessed a civil penalty of $200.

Obstructing Navigation
	■ It is illegal to:

•	Anchor a vessel in the traveled portion of a river or channel 
in a way that will prevent or interfere with any other vessel 
passing through the same area.

•	Moor or attach a vessel to a buoy (other than a mooring 
buoy), beacon, light, or any other navigational aid placed on 
public waters by proper authorities.

•	Move, displace, tamper with, damage, or destroy any 
navigational aid.

•	Fail to obey the navigation rules.
•	Fish or sunbathe on docks where vessels are being launched 

or are otherwise in use by boaters.
	■ If you are operating a power-driven vessel in narrow 

channels or on fairways of the Western Rivers and are 
heading upstream (against the direction of the current), 
all vessels coming toward you from the opposite direction 
have the right-of-way and you must give way as necessary to 
permit safe passing.

Homeland Security Restrictions
Recreational boaters have a role in keeping our waterways safe 
and secure.

	■ Observe and avoid all security zones, including restricted 
areas near dams, power plants, etc. Do not stop or anchor 
beneath bridges or in the channel. Violators can expect a 
swift and severe response.

	■ Keep a sharp eye out for anything that looks peculiar or out 
of the ordinary. Report all activities that seem suspicious to 
the local authorities or USCG.
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Boating Accidents and Casualties
	■ An operator involved in a boating accident must:

•	Stop his or her vessel immediately at the scene of the 
accident and…

•	Render aid to other persons affected by the accident and…
•	Give, in writing, his or her name, address, and identification 

(registration number) to the other vessel’s operator and/or 
passengers.

	■ The operator or owner of a vessel involved in an accident 
must notify immediately, by the quickest means possible, 
the sheriff of the county in which the accident took place 
if a person is injured, dies, or disappears or damage to the 
vessel or other property exceeds $1,500.

	■ Written reports of accidents involving only property damage 
must be made within 10 days of the accident. However, 
you must file an accident report within 48 hours in cases 
involving a death, disappearance, or injury.

	■ Boating accident report forms can be found at any sheriff ’s 
department office or by calling the IDPR at 208-334-4199.

Diver-Down Flag
	■ Scuba divers or snorkelers should display a diver-down flag 

that marks their diving area.
	■ Vessels must reduce speed to “no wake speed” while within 

100 feet of the flag.
	■ Two types of flags are used to indicate diving activity.

A rectangular red flag with a 
white diagonal stripe is used 
on Idaho state waters.

A blue-and-white 
International Code Flag A (or 
Alfa flag) must be displayed 
on vessels on federally 
controlled waters.

Divers Flag Alfa Flag
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Skier-Down Flag
Idaho law states that vessels 
towing person(s) on water 
skis or other similar devices 
must carry and use a red 
or orange skier-down flag, 
at least 12 x 12 inches in 
size, whenever the towed 
person(s) is in the water.

Aftermarket Lights
Aftermarket lights for vessels have become popular. These lights 
are intended to enhance the nighttime experience by providing 
a series of colored lights in the water. Unfortunately, in most 
instances, these lights are not legal to use when the boat is 
underway because colored lights can often be mistaken for law 
enforcement vessels or worse, distract or confuse other boat 
operators. The legally required red and green lights on the bows 
of boats and the white sternlights are designed so boat operators 
are able to determine the direction boats are moving at night.

When aftermarket lights are used in conjunction with the 
legally required navigation lights, it can become a dangerous 
situation very quickly. In addition, it is not legal to have dock 
lights on while operating a boat. The purpose of dock lights is 
to assist boat operators when docking a boat in a slip at night. 
If these lights are displayed when operating a boat on the water, 
other boater operators can get easily confused because of the 
interference with legally required navigation lights, producing a 
potentially dangerous situation.

Discharge of Trash
	■ It is illegal to dump refuse, garbage, or plastics into federally 

controlled or state waters. Store trash in a container on board, 
and place it in a proper receptacle on shore. 

	■ Federal law requires you to display a 4 x 9-inch placard 
(sign) on any vessel 26 feet or longer. It must notify 
passengers and crew about discharge restrictions.
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Discharge of Oil and Other Hazardous 
Substances

	■ It is illegal to discharge oil or hazardous substances.
	■ You are not allowed to dump oil into the bilge of the vessel 

without means for proper disposal.
	■ You must dispose of oil waste at a reception facility.  

On recreational vessels, a bucket or bailer is adequate for 
temporary storage.

	■ If on federal waters, and your vessel is 26 feet or longer, you 
must display a 5 x 8-inch placard near the bilge pump switch 
stating the Federal Water Pollution Control Act.

Discharge of Sewage and Waste
	■ You are not required to have an installed toilet on your 

vessel. Many people use portable toilets and dispose of 
the waste at a public launch that has a pump-out station 
equipped for portable toilets.

	■ For long outings, equip your vessel with toilet facilities. 
	■ If your vessel does have an installed toilet, federal law 

requires a USCG–certified 
marine sanitation device 
(MSD) that is working 
properly.

Types of MSDs
	■ Types I and II MSDs treat 

waste with special chemicals 
to kill bacteria. If you have a Type I or II MSD, it must 
have a holding tank for untreated waste and a Y valve that 
must be secured in a closed position while operating in U.S. 
waters. 

	■ Type III MSDs provide no treatment and are either 
holding tanks or portable toilets. Collected waste should 
be taken ashore and disposed of in a pump-out station or 
onshore toilet.

Drainage to  
pump-out station

Y valve always 
must be secured
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Aquatic Invasive Species
Eurasian watermilfoil and New Zealand mud snails are some of 
the invasive species of concern in Idaho. Often spread between 
waterways by hitching a ride on vessels and trailers, these 
non-native species can damage the environment and hurt the 
economy.

	■ Due to the increasing threat of invasive species, the Idaho 
legislature passed The Idaho Invasive Species Act of 2008.
•	Possession or transport of aquatic invasive species (AIS) 

is prohibited by law. This includes things like weeds on a 
boat or snails in bilge water.

•	Watercraft inspection stations have been established in 
locations throughout the state to ensure boats are free 
of AIS. All watercraft (including canoes, kayaks, and 
paddleboards) are required to stop if an open station is 
encountered. Inspection is quick and easy if the watercraft 
is clean, drained, and dry.

•	Anyone who violates the regulations in the act may be 
fined up to $3,000, imprisoned in county jail for up to 
12 months, or both. A person may receive additional civil 
penalties of up to $10,000.

	■ Help prevent the spread of invasive species in Idaho by using 
this checklist every time you exit a body of water.
•	Clean any visible mud, plants, or animals from your boat.
•	Drain all water, including from the lower outboard unit, 

ballast, livewell, etc. Dispose of debris and bait in the 
trash.

•	Dry all areas of your boat and equipment.	

Please visit www.invasivespecies.idaho.gov or call 
1-877-336-8676 for more information.
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Specifically for Paddleboards
The use of paddleboards on lakes and rivers is growing in 
popularity. The USCG classifies paddleboards as vessels.

Requirements for Paddleboards
When using a paddleboard beyond the narrow limits of a 
swimming, surfing, or bathing area, certain requirements apply.

	■ Paddleboard users must comply with recreational boating 
laws and rules.

	■ Paddleboards must have:
•	A life jacket for each person on board
•	A sound-producing device such as a whistle
•	Navigation lights when used between sunset and sunrise—

this may be a flashlight or headlamp with a white light
•	An Idaho Invasive Species Fund sticker
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PWC operators must obey the laws that apply to other vessels 
as well as obey additional requirements that apply specifically to 
the operation of personal watercraft.

Requirements for PWC
	■ Each person riding on 

or being towed behind a 
PWC must wear a USCG–
approved Type I, II, or III 
life jacket that is impact 
rated for the maximum 
speed of the PWC.

	■ An operator of a PWC 
equipped with a lanyard-type engine cut-off switch (ECOS) 
must attach the lanyard to his or her person, clothing, or life 
jacket.

	■ It is illegal to operate a PWC between sunset and sunrise 
or during periods of restricted visibility (such as fog) unless 
the PWC comes equipped by the manufacturer with the 
required navigation lights.

	■ PWC must be operated in a reasonable and prudent manner 
at all times. For example, it is illegal to:
•	Weave your PWC through congested traffic.
•	Jump the wake of another vessel at an unsafe distance 

from the other vessel.
•	Swerve at the last moment to avoid a collision in order to 

splash another vessel or person.
•	Operate in a way that requires another vessel to swerve at 

the last possible moment to avoid a collision.
	■ A PWC operator should give way to any powerboat towing 

a skier by altering course and/or reducing speed to five miles 
per hour.

	■ It is illegal to chase, harass, or disturb wildlife with a PWC.

Specifically for PWC
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Specifically for Skiing 
Vessel operators towing a person(s) on water skis, an aquaplane, 
or other similar device must also obey these laws.

Requirements for Towing Skiers
	■ Each person being towed 

behind a vessel must wear 
a USCG–approved life 
jacket.

	■ It is illegal to tow a water-
skier between one hour 
after sunset and one hour 
before sunrise.

	■ Every vessel towing a person(s) on water skis or a similar 
device must have a competent person, in addition to the 
vessel operator, continuously observing the towed person(s).

	■ If the towing vessel is a PWC, the PWC must be rated by 
the manufacturer for at least three people—the operator, the 
observer, and the retrieved skier. 

	■ It is illegal to exceed “no wake speed” (maximum of five 
miles per hour) while within 100 feet of a dock, a swimmer, 
or a person in the water, except when:
•	You are safely pulling a water-skier from a dock or…
•	You are safely dropping a water-skier at or near a 

dock or…
•	The swimmer or person in the water is the vessel’s skier.

	■ Vessels towing a person(s) on water skis or a similar device 
must carry on board a red or orange skier-down flag. The 
observer must display the flag whenever the skier is in the 
water. 

	■ Vessel operators are responsible for the actions of any person 
they are towing.

Copyright © 2021 Kalkomey Enterprises, LLC and its divisions and partners, www.kalkomey.com



48  It’s the Law!

Knowing proper hand signals will help the skier(s) 
communicate with their boat operator or the observer.

Hand Signals for Skiers

Skier OK Stop Skier down—watch!

Turn left Turn right

Speed up Slow down Speed OK

Wakesurfing Behind a Boat
	■ To wakesurf, a person rides on a device similar to a surfboard 

in the wake just behind a boat.
•	The wakesurfer holds onto a tow (ski) rope only until he 

or she is up out of the water. Then, the rope is tossed into 
the boat.

•	The boat travels at slow speeds of 9 to 14 miles per hour.

Copyright © 2021 Kalkomey Enterprises, LLC and its divisions and partners, www.kalkomey.com



It’s the Law!  49

•	To create the larger wake that a wakesurfer needs, the boat 
carries artificial ballast, such as portable ballast tanks or 
other heavy objects that are spread throughout the boat.

	■ Persons involved in wakesurfing must follow these 
regulations.
•	A boat involved in wakesurfing must be operated at a 

speed no greater than no wake or five (5) miles an hour 
when within 100 feet of docks, other vessels, and other 
swimmers or other persons in the water. 

•	Any portable ballast tank must have a manufacturer’s label 
that gives the tank’s maximum capacity in gallons and/or 
maximum weight in pounds. 

•	The combined weight of the ballast, passengers, gear, and 
motors must not exceed the vessel’s maximum weight 
capacity. 

•	Be a responsible boat operator and respect shoreline 
properly owners: 
	- Stay more than 200 feet away from docks and shorelines. 
	- Minimize repetitive passes. 
	- Keep music at reasonable levels.
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Avoiding Propeller Strike Injuries
Most propeller strike accidents result from operator error. 
Victims include swimmers, scuba divers, fallen water-skiers, and 
boat operators or passengers. Most propeller accidents can be 
prevented by following basic safe boating practices.

	■ Maintain a proper lookout. The primary cause of propeller 
strike accidents is operator inattention.

	■ Make sure the engine is off so that the propeller is not 
rotating when passengers are boarding or leaving a boat.

	■ Never start a boat with the engine in gear.
	■ Slow down when approaching congested areas and 

anchorages. In congested areas, always be alert for swimmers 
and divers.

	■ Learn to recognize warning buoys that mark swimming and 
hazardous areas.

	■ Keep the boat away from marked swimming and diving 
areas. Become familiar with the red and white or blue-and-
white diver-down flags signaling that divers are below the 
surface.

	■ Make sure that passengers are seated properly before getting 
underway. Some operators of larger boats with several 
passengers have caused injuries by putting the engine in gear 
while people were still swimming or diving from the boat.

	■ Never ride on a seat back, gunwale, transom, or bow.

Devices That Reduce Propeller Strikes
There are several new technologies designed to reduce 
propeller strikes. The effectiveness of the devices varies, 
depending on the boat and the operating environment. For 
more information, visit the USCG’s boating safety website at 
www.uscgboating.org/recreational-boaters/.
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1	 Priest Lake
	 Bishop’s Marina . . . . . . . . .        R
	 Blue Diamond Marina. . . .   R
	 Priest Lake Marina  
	   (Kalispell Bay) . . . . . . . . . .         P
2	 Lake Pend Oreille
	 Bottle Bay Marina	
	 Dover Bay Marina	
	 Garfield Bay Boat Launch
	 Holiday Shores Marina	
	 Hope Marine Services
	 MacDonald’s Hudson  
	   Bay Marina . . . . . . . . . . .           ▲
	 Kramer Marina	
	 Sandpoint City Beach  
	   Park/Marina (Windbag)
	 Sandpoint Marina	
3	 Lake Coeur d’Alene
	 Boardwalk Marina	
	 Carlin Bay Resort	
	 Conkling Bay Resort	
	 Eleventh Street Marina	
	 Harrison Docks	
	 Rockford Bay	
	 Silver Beach Marina	
	 Third Street Docks	
4	 Chatcolet Lake
		  Heyburn State Park . . . . . .      R
5	 St. Joe River
		  Aqua Park
6	 Dworshak Reservoir
		  Big Eddy Marina . . . . . . . .        R
		  Dent Acres . . . . . . . . . . . . .             R
		  Grandad  . . . . . . . . . . . . . .              R
		  Magnus Bay . . . . . . . . . . .           FR
7	 Snake River
		  Hells Gate State Park
8	 Salmon River
		  Crumps Chevron  . . . . . . .        P
		  Newin Ranch, North Fork P
9	 Payette Lake
		  Mile High Marina

	Map 	 Body of Water/	 Services
	 #	 Facility	

Idaho Boat Pump-Out and  
Sanitation Sites

10	 Lake Cascade
		  Vanwick Boat Ramp . . . . .      P
11	 Lucky Peak Reservoir
		  Spring Shores Marina  
		    (West Ramp) . . . . . . . . . .         ▲
12	 American Falls Reservoir
		  Seagull Bay Boat Club
13	 Bear Lake
		  Garden City Marina

Map 	 Body of Water/	 Services
	 #	 Facility	

Services Legend
P	 porta-potty
▲	 pump-out also equipped  
	 for portables
R	 pump-outs with 
	 restrooms
FR	 floating restrooms
B	 floating pump-out barge

Copyright © 2021 Kalkomey Enterprises, LLC and its divisions and partners, www.kalkomey.com



1.	Each person riding on or being towed behind a PWC must wear a 
USCG–approved life jacket at all times.

2.	Those 14 years of age or younger must wear an approved life jacket at 
all times when underway in a vessel 19 feet or less in length.

3.	Required on inboard and stern drives only.
4.	Required on federally controlled waters. Visit www.boatidaho.gov for 

the list of federally controlled waters in Idaho.
5.	It is illegal to operate a PWC between sunset and sunrise or during 

periods of restricted visibility (such as fog), unless the PWC comes 
equipped by the manufacturer with the required navigation lights.

6.	At least one lantern or flashlight between the hours of sunset and 
sunrise.

Note: Visit www.boatidaho.gov for an electronic version of the complete 
list of requirements.

Idaho Required Equipment Checklist
PWC Boat 

Less 
Than 16 

Ft.

Boat 16 
Ft. to Less 
Than 26 

Ft.

Human 
Powered: 

Any 
Length

Certificate of Number on 
Board ✓ ✓ ✓

Validation Stickers 
Displayed ✓ ✓ ✓

Life Jackets: Type I, II, 
or III  ✓1  ✓2  ✓2  ✓2

Life Jacket: Type IV ✓
Type 5-B Fire Extinguisher ✓ ✓ ✓

Backfire Flame Arrestor ✓  ✓3  ✓3

Ventilation System ✓ ✓ ✓
Muffler ✓ ✓ ✓

Horn, Whistle, or Bell ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓
Daytime VDSs  ✓4

Nighttime VDSs 5  ✓4  ✓4

Navigation Lights 5 ✓ ✓ 6
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For more information 
on boating in Idaho, contact:

The Idaho Department of Parks and Recreation
Boating Program
P.O. Box 83720

Boise, ID 83720-0065

208-334-4199
www.boatidaho.gov
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