□ IDAPA RULE □ BOARD POLICY

□ IDAPA FEE BOARD ACTION REQUIRED □ INFO ONLY, NO ACTION REQUIRED

AGENDA ITEM Idaho Park and Recreation Quarterly Meeting May 18-19, 2022 Fairfield by Marriott 1000 W. Pullman Rd. Moscow, ID

AGENDA ITEM: State Snowmobile Avalanche Fund Committee

ACTION REQUIRED: Approve Regional Committee Members

PRESENTER: David Claycomb or Michael Robinson

PRESENTATION

BACKGROUND INFORMATION: 67-7107A. STATE SNOWMOBILE AVALANCHE FUND — STATE SNOWMOBILE AVALANCHE FUND COMMITTEE. (1) There is hereby established in the state treasurer's office an account to be known and designated as the "state snowmobile avalanche fund." This fund shall receive one dollar (\$1.00) from each snowmobile certificate of number fee, one dollar (\$1.00) from each rental certificate of number fee, and one dollar (\$1.00) from each nonresident snowmobile user certificate issued by vendors, as provided for in section 67-7106, Idaho Code. This fund shall be managed by the state snowmobile avalanche fund committee.

(2) The board shall appoint a state snowmobile avalanche fund committee (SSAFC) of five (5) members. The membership of the SSAFC shall consist of the director of the United States forest service national avalanche center, or his designee, who shall chair the SSAFC, and one (1) active snowmobiler from each of the following districts: north Idaho, central Idaho, south Idaho, and east Idaho. These four (4) regional members of the SSAFC shall be appointed by the board from a list of no fewer than two (2) persons nominated by the Idaho state snowmobile association, and said members shall serve a term of four (4) years, except that the term of the initial appointees shall commence on the date of appointment and shall be staggered such that at least one (1) position is up for appointment each year. Each member of the SSAFC must be a qualified elector of the state, maintaining a residence and domicile within the district of appointment. For purposes of SSAFC membership and representation, the four (4) districts shall be as follows:

(a) North Idaho consists of Boundary, Bonner, Kootenai, Benewah, Latah, Shoshone, Clearwater, Nez Perce, Lewis, and Idaho counties.

(b) Central Idaho consists of Adams, Washington, Valley, Payette, Gem, Boise, Canyon, Ada, Elmore, and Owyhee counties.

(c) South Idaho consists of Lemhi, Custer, Butte, Camas, Blaine, Gooding, Lincoln, Jerome, Minidoka, Twin Falls, and Cassia counties.

(d) East Idaho consists of Clark, Fremont, Jefferson, Madison, Teton, Bonneville, Bingham, Power, Bannock, Caribou, Bear Lake, Franklin, and Oneida counties.

Idaho State Snowmobile Association (ISSA) nominations are:

North Region Jim McReynolds 127 Alpine Dr. Priest Lake ID 83856

South Region Scott Chapman 135 Eddie Circle McCall ID 83638

Central Region Bryan Baird 960 Eastridge DR. Hailey ID 83333

East Region Brach Hansen 316 E 1St S Rexburg ID 83440

Karl Birkeland- Director USFS National Avalanche Center

<u>STAFF RECOMMENDATIONS</u>: IDPR Board approves nominees to sit on state snowmobile avalanche fund committee.