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Personal Watercraft Laws and Safe Operation

A PWC is classified as a boat and must follow the same operation and equipment laws as other boats.
As a Personal Watercraft (PWC) operator, you must be familiar with the operation of the boat, as
well as the boating laws and rules. You carry the responsibility of abiding by these laws. You are
also responsible for the safety of your passengers and the boat you are renting. This synopsis is a
summary of the special laws that apply specifically to a PWC and does not include all boating laws.
(For a complete reading of all boating laws, please see Title 67, Chapter 70 of the Idaho Code.) All
persons renting a PWC must be instructed in the safe operation and laws relating to the craft as
described in Idaho Boating Laws and Rules.

YOU MUST:

o Wear a U.S. Coast Guard approved life jacket that is in serviceable condition, regardless of
whether you are riding the PWC or being pulled by it. To be in serviceable condition, a life
jacket must be in good shape and not contain any rips or tears in the fabric.

Travel at slow, no-wake speed, (under 5 miles per hour) while within 100 feet of a dock, shore,
swimmer, or other person in the water.

Carry a whistle or horn that is audible for at least one-half of a mile.

Carry an approved fire extinguisher.

Carry proof of education onboard the PWC when it is in operation.

Immediately report to the sheriff any boating accident involving death, personal injury, or
property damage in excess of $1500.

Attach the cut-off lanyard to your person if the unit comes equipped with one.

Stay well clear of other boats, including other PWCs.

Be respectful to others.

YOU MUST NOT:
Operate between sunset and sunrise without the proper navigation lights installed by the
manufacturer.
Operate in a careless or indifferent manner to any person or property.
Overload the PWC’s rated capacity. Remember that a water skier being pulled behind the
vessel is considered a passenger.
Jump the wake of another boat at an unsafe distance from the boat creating the wake.
Weave through congested traffic or cause the operator of another vessel to change course in
order to avoid a collision.
Operate any boat while under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
Pull a water skier without an observer onboard. Remember, the water skier is considered a
passenger on your boat.
Allow any person to operate the PWC you have rented if their name does not appear on an
“Acknowledgement of Education” card.




